Published on Friday, 22 October 2021 at 5:14:57 PM

Newly elected members to the Shire of Exmouth Council have been sworn in following the weekend’s Local Government Elections.

For the three vacant positions of Councillors, Darlene Allston was elected with 515 votes, Jackie Brooks with  494 votes and David Gillespie with 348 votes. All three new elected Councillors will serve a four-year term until 2021/2025.

Chief Executive Officer Ben Lewis congratulated the newly elected Councillors and acknowledged those who had put their hand up to run for Council.

Also, at Tuesday’s meeting, Cr Darlene Allston was voted by the new Council to serve as Shire President for a further two-year term, after a tie between Cr Gillespie and Cr McCarrol.

Cr Brooks was voted to serve as Deputy Shire President after Cr McCarrol withdrew her nomination following another tie vote for the positions.

For 2021 Ordinary Election results, visit

For the minutes [unconfirmed] of the Special Council Meeting visit

Shire President Darlene Allston

Deputy Shire President Jackie Brooks

Cr David Gillespie


----------------------------------------- ENDS ----------------------------------------------

Media contact:
Sandra Flint, Coordinator Communications & Marketing, Shire of Exmouth
M: 0459 431 439 | E:

Back to All News