Whale watching, pristine beaches Exmouth Western Australia


Local Government (Shire of Exmouth - Suspension and Appointment of Commissioner) Order 2017.

On 4 January 2017, Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia approved the suspension of the Council of the Shire of Exmouth and appointed a Commissioner to assume the duties and discharge the function of Council.  This was published in the Western Australian Government Gazette No. 3.

The appointed Commissioner is Mr Ian Fletcher AM, JP.  Commissioner Fletcher is a retired former chief executive officer of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and has more than 45 years' experience in both the private and public sectors including holding the position of the executive chairman of the WA Regional Development Council.

In accordance with section 2.38(1) of the Local Government Act 1995, the role of a Commissioner '...is to exercise the powers and discharge the duties of the council of the local government and its mayor or president.'

The Commissioner was appointed for a period of up to six (6) months. 

Her Excellency the Governor General in Executive Council approved the extension of the Commissioner’s appointment to the Shire of Exmouth as a result of all offices of the Council becoming vacant in May this year.

The Governor’s Order was published in the Government Gazette on Tuesday, 27 June 2017, appointing the Commissioner until the offices of the members of Council are filled and the new Council holds its first meeting.

Commissioner Fletcher's contact details are detailed below.

Position Name Contact Info


Mr Ian Fletcher

Postal: PO Box 21 Exmouth 6707

Phone: (08) 9949 3000

Mobile: 0409 626 653

Email: commissioner@exmouth.wa.gov.au

Local Government Elections

Local government ordinary elections are held every two years in October. The next ordinary local government election will be held on 21 October 2017.

Who is eligible to vote?

People who own or occupy property within a local government district, are eligible to vote.

Enrolment is compulsory for all Western Australians who:

  • Are aged 18 years and over;
  • Are Australian Citizens; and
  • Have lived at their current address for at least one month

You can check your enrolment details by contacting the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 08 9214 0400 or online at www.elections.wa.gov.au.

Register to be on the local government electoral roll

All residents who are enrolled on the State Electoral Roll are automatically enrolled on the corresponding local government roll.

People who own or occupy property within the local government district can contact their local government to be included on the roll as an owner/occupier. To register for enrolment on the Shire of Exmouth roll contact the Shire on 9949 3000.

Want to know more?

Download the guide, Thinking of Becoming a Councillor, for further information or contact the Executive Secretary at the Shire on (08) 9949 3000.

For further information on Local Government Elections and Candidate Nomination Information please visit the below websites:

Western Australian Electoral Commission - Local Government Elections

Department of Local Government and Communities - Elections